The Award

The Friedrich Schiedel Foundation, the Technical University of Munich (TUM) and the Hochschule für Politik München have been awarding the Friedrich Schiedel Prize for Politics and Technology since 2018 to promote and convey a deeper understanding of the interactions between politics, society and technology. The prize has been awarded to top-class personalities from science, politics, business and other areas of public life. The prize money is intended to honor the merits of the personality in his or her field of activity and to enable a guest stay of several weeks at the Hochschule für Politik München and TUM School of Governance. In times of demographic change, the TUM is more than ever obliged to pass on knowledge and experience to the next generation in order to help secure the future of Germany as a center of science and research.

 

Award Winners

2020: Kathleen Thelen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Prof. Kathleen Thelen received the 2020 Friedrich Schiedel Prize for Politics and Technology in recognition of her impressive research work in the field of comparative American political economy, in particular the regulation of new technologies and large technology companies such as Apple, Amazon, Facebook, Uber or Google.

  • Press release on Kathleen Thelen' award

2019: Henry Farrell (Johns Hopkins University)

Prof. Henry Farrell received the 2019 Friedrich Schiedel Prize for Politics and Technology in recognition of his outstanding contributions to political science and multidisciplinary research and in recognition of his pioneering work and scientific leadership in developing new theoretical approaches to understanding the political consequences of rapidly changing information technologies.

2018: Prof. Helen Margetts (Oxford University)

The "Friedrich Schiedel Prize for Politics and Technology 2018" was awarded to Helen Margetts, Professor at Oxford University and Director of the Public Policy Program at London's Alan Turing Institute. The jury thus honored Margetts' outstanding pioneering work on the topic of "Governance in the Digital Age".

Friedrich Schiedel Foundation

Der Preis

Die Friedrich Schiedel-Stiftung, die Technische Universität München (TUM) sowie die Hochschule für Politik München vergeben zur Förderung und Vermittlung eines tiefergehenden Verständnisses der Wechselwirkungen zwischen Politik, Gesellschaft und Technik den Friedrich Schiedel-Preis für Politik und Technik. Der Preis wird seit 2018 an hochkarätige Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und weiteren Bereichen des Öffentlichen Lebens verliehen. Mit dem Preisgeld sollen die Verdienste der Persönlichkeit in dessen Wirkungsfeld gewürdigt und ein mehrwöchiger Gastaufenthalt an der Hochschule für Politik München und TUM School of Governance ermöglicht werden. In Zeiten des demographischen Wandels steht die TUM mehr denn je in der Pflicht, Wissen und Erfahrungen an die nachrückende Generation weiterzugeben, um zur Zukunftssicherung des Wissenschaftsstandorts Deutschland beizutragen.

Preisträger*innen

2020: Kathleen Thelen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Prof. Kathleen Thelen erhielt 2020 den Friedrich Schiedel-Preis für Politik und Technik in Anerkennung ihrer beeindruckenden Forschungstätigkeit im Bereich der vergleichenden amerikanischen politischen Ökonomie, insbesondere die Frage der Regulierung von neuen Technologien und große Technologieunternehmen wie Apple, Amazon, Facebook, Uber oder Google.

  • Pressemitteilung zur Auszeichnung von Kathleen Thelen

2019: Henry Farrell (Johns Hopkins University)

Prof. Henry Farrell erhielt 2019 den Friedrich Schiedel-Preis für Politik und Technik in Anerkennung seiner außergewöhnlichen Beiträge zur Politikwissenschaft und multidisziplinären Forschung und in Würdigung seiner wegweisenden Arbeit und wissenschaftlichen Führungsfunktion bei der Entwicklung neuer theoretischer Ansätze zum Verständnis der politischen Konsequenzen sich schnell verändernder Informationstechnologien.

2018: Prof. Helen Margetts (Oxford University)

Der „Friedrich Schiedel-Preis für Politik und Technik 2018“ ging an Helen Margetts, Professorin an der Oxford University und Direktorin des Public Policy Program am Londoner Alan Turing Institute. Damit würdigte die Jury Margetts herausragende Pionierarbeit zum Thema „Regieren im digitalen Zeitalter“.

Friedrich Schiedel Stiftung